top of page

I Promise.

Updated: Nov 18, 2018

I've been getting the question, "Your website is beautiful, but why did you start?"

This has been the toughest question for me to answer by far.


Everyone has their stories and it does not always define who they are. I did not have the easiest childhood but I should not be the first to complain. I can only be thankful from here on for the childhood that I had because it made me who I am today.


From an early age, I never had the perfect father figure. I dealt with physical and mental abuse for as long as I could remember and finally at the age of 16, I could no longer handle the extreme amount of pressure. I was trying to make it through high school, focus on trying to get into a driver's ed class and so much more was on my shoulders for a 16 year old girl who did not have a secure home life. SAT's were pushed aside and Senior Project was approaching, on top of babysitting my siblings and working 30+ hours a week at a local convenience store and pharmacy.


The May before my 17th birthday, my step father and I had the last fight we would ever have. I packed whatever I could. One sock, a romper, two pairs of underwear, my secret phone that they had no idea about, one pair of jeans, my drawing journal and a few other miscellaneous things. I rushed out of my mothers house choking down a heavy lump in my throat and burning tears. I called my grandparents, grasping my pillow and staring at the cars passing by. Before I knew it, I had my own room and a place that was not a house, but a home.


I attached some photos below of my room before and after. When I moved in, I had left everything behind. No more clothes, stuffed animals, school books or work, etc. Considering I was on my mothers health insurance too, I had to seek out my own.


I found two new jobs and kept my old one. I had to save money for a car or some type of income to rebuild or repurchase whatever I had lost.


My grandparents loved me so much and still do to put in the time and effort to make sure I am okay, fed and healthy. I won't ever be able to thank or repay them no matter how successful I am in the future.


The moral of the story is that no matter how difficult it is growing up, do not let that change how you are as a person and how you treat others.



I hope you all understand where I am coming from. Nothing will be easy or handed to you when coming out of one of these situations. Find the ones who love and care about you. They will guide you and help you find your way. I promise.


Love always,

Tate


18 views1 comment
bottom of page